Thank you for your support of the East Tennessee Veterans Memorial.

Tickets are now on sale for the 4th Annual Medal of Honor Evening. Please use the link above. The social hour will begin at 5:30 and the dinner will begin at 6:30.

To Remember, Honor, Educate, and Inspire…

The Memorial is a public plaza with a formal arrangement of granite pillars bearing the names of 6,202 fallen heroes from 35 East Tennessee counties who died in military service during named conflicts since World War I. It was dedicated and officially unveiled November 15, 2008.


© Robert Batey Photography

The names of the 14 Medal of Honor recipients from East Tennessee are inscribed and honored on the reverse side of the pillars. Quotations related to the wars and national service offer an occasion for reflection and meditation. A bell tower tolls for those lost, and for the four essential freedoms we honor and defend.

Major support for the Memorial has come from Knox County, the City of Knoxville, the State of Tennessee, the Federal Government, and hundreds of individuals, businesses, and groups.

Find a Veteran

The ETVMA has compiled an extensive and constantly growing database of all veterans remembered on the East Tennessee Veterans Memorial. To find information about any veteran on the Memorial, enter a last name below.

Browse the database

Click a letter below to browse all veterans' names beginning with that letter.

Donate to the ETVMA

Your considerate donations ensure the upkeep of the East Tennessee Veterans Memorial. Learn more about how you can help »

Donate Now

Join our e-mail list

Latest ETVMA News

2013 Memorial Day Name Dedication Ceremony

The East Tennessee Veterans Memorial Association honored and remembered those who have made the ultimate sacrifice at the

“2013 Reading of the Names”, Memorial Day – Monday, May 27

Beginning at sunrise, more than sixty volunteers, including students, veterans, Gold Star families, active duty, guard and reserve service members joined together to read each of 6202 names aloud.

At the conclusion of the reading, the ten newly-engraved names were dedicated, followed by the annual Memorial Day service organized by the American Legion Post 2.

The names are:


Army Private First Class, Charles G. Woods, June 15, 1966, Blount County


Air Force Lieutenant Colonel Morton C. Carmack, March 10, 1951, Bradley County

Army Private First Class Clyde C. Hutson, March 25, 1951, Hawkins County

Air Force Second Lieutenant James W. Lunsford, April 6, 1954, Hamilton County

Army Private First Class Herman Manis, December 15, 1953,  Sullivan County

Army Corporal John F. Sadler, June 10, 1952, Washington County


Army Colonel James D. Bender, July 11, 1944, Hamilton County

Merchant Marines Third Engineer John E. Cole, March 17, 1943, Washington County

Army Private Cleaston A. Patterson, May 14, 1944, Polk County

Army Private First Class John W. Turpin, April 23, 1943, Knox County

Medal of Honor

The Medal of Honor was established in 1863. The medal has been awarded 3,427 times to 3,408 individuals, with 19 individuals being awarded the medal twice.

The three different types of medal issued are seen in the above image from the Congressional Medal of Honor Society. The Navy, Army, and Air Force each have a different design.

Read the Stories of all of East Tennessee’s Medal of Honor recipients »